#WIPMarathon Intro Post

Committed to WRITE!!

Many thanks to the awesome Ifeoma Dennis who assembled this group of writers to embark on a Summer literary journey. I was hesitant because commitment is scary, but I’m taking the plunge!  I’ve been slacking with my writing this Summer, but now I have a reason to get back to what I love!

Marathon Goals:

I have two goals 🙂  The story that I’ve been querying this year is called KILLING DARKNESS.  It is so close to my heart that I could not let go of the characters and started writing a spinoff novella called TAMING DARKNESS last February.  I’m close to finishing my first draft of that, and hope to complete it this August.  My hope is to self publish this novella and see how it is received, based on that, I might self publish the original novel that I’ve been working on for the past six years.

My second goal is for my daughter.  I write adult novels, paranormal stuff, a little horror, a little romance but mostly paranormal, but nothing that she can read.  She’s 7 and into Harry Potter now, so she asked me to write a story that she could enjoy.  So for the first time in my life I’m writing for a MG audience.  This is exciting, and I get to test my chapters on her 🙂

Stage of Writing:

For Taming Darkness it’s finishing the first draft. I have about 30K words done and since it’s a novella it will only run about 40-45K.  For the untitled MG it’s fresh.  I’ve set the setting, the characters and I have an outline of the direction I’m going in, but everything is still new.

My Inspiration:

Anne Rice, who carved my love of vampire’s onto my heart, said “Write the book you most want to read.” So my inspiration for TAMING DARKNESS is just that.  It’s dark, romantic, painful, and magical.  It shows the weakness of an immortal and the strength of humanity.  As for WIP #2… that’s for my daughter, so I imagine the world through her eyes… it’s my Wonderland, where anything is possible.

What might slow me down:

Since my husband is working from home now, my daughter is home from school and my cats like to be wherever I tend to go, it’s difficult to sit quietly with a cup of coffee and just dedicate a few hours each day uninterrupted.  I foresee many late nights, and bottle of wine instead of cups of coffee…

So that as they say is that… and let the writing begin!! I’m excited to see what beauty we all shall create at the end of this marathon!!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “#WIPMarathon Intro Post

  1. amandashayne says:

    I love that you’re trying an MG for the first time! I tried it once because I wanted to write something for my little sister, but I never got past chapter 1. 🙂 I know what you mean about commitment being scary. I was scared, too, but at least you know we’ll all support you, and we all know how hard it is to balance writing with all the other parts of life. Best of luck to you!

  2. That’s so sweet that you want to write something for your daughter. Good luck with all your great projects!

Leave a Reply

